Poppy Redfern Series

Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders

A Woman of World War II, Book One

Charming and independent Poppy Redfern stumbles into murder in this exciting new World War II historical mystery series from critically acclaimed author Tessa Arlen.

Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders
Summer 1942. The world has been at war for three long and desperate years. In the remote English village of Little Buffenden, Poppy Redfern’s family house and farmland has been requisitioned by the War Office as a new airfield for the American Air Force. As the village’s Air Raid Warden, Poppy spends her nights patrolling the village as she tries to ease her neighbors’ fears about the “Friendly Invasion” and what it means to their quiet way of life.
When two young, popular women who were dating American servicemen are found strangled, Poppy quickly realizes that her little town has been divided by murder. The mistrust and suspicion of their new American partners in war threatens to tear Little Buffenden apart. Poppy decides to start her own investigation with the help of a charismatic American pilot and she soon unearths some chilling secrets and long-held grudges. Poppy will have no choice but to lay a trap for a killer so perilously close to home, she might very well become the next victim….

Advance Praise for Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders:

“Arlen deserves several thumbs up for this one. . . along with capturing the ambiance of the era, Arlen also has the
gift of keeping the reader guessing. Just as one likely suspect steps to the fore, another pushes him or her
out of the way. A fine start to a new series. ” Ilene Cooper — Booklist. Read full review here

“History, suspense, and an appealing heroine combine in a series debut that should attract war buffs and many others.” Kirkus Review. Read full review here

Releases November 5, 2019 and available for pre-order from:

Buy eBook: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Apple Books | Google Play
Buy print:   Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | Books-A-Million
Buy audio:  Amazon | Barnes & Noble |