goodreads_icon_50x50-4b546772c2dbe7c347427cf12d59cf93

Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman

To be released January 2015 by Minotaur, St. Martin’s Press

death of a dishonora#B139E3Lady Montfort has been planning her annual summer costume ball for months, and with scrupulous care. Pulling together the food, flowers and a thousand other details for one of the most significant social occasions of the year is her happily accepted responsibility. But when her husband’s degenerate nephew is found murdered, it’s more than the ball that is ruined. In fact, Lady Montfort fears that the official police enquiry, driven by petty snobbery and class prejudice, is pointing towards her son as a potential suspect.

Taking matters into her own hands, the rather over-imaginative countess enlists the help of her pragmatic housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, to investigate the case, track down the women that vanished the night of the murder, and clear her son’s name. As the two women search for a runaway housemaid and a headstrong young woman, they unearth the hidden lives of Lady Montfort’s close friends, servants and family and discover the identity of a murderer hiding in plain sight.

In this enchanting debut sure to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Tessa Arlen draws readers into a world exclusively enjoyed by the rich, privileged classes and suffered by the men and women who serve them. Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman is an elegant mystery filled with intriguing characters and fascinating descriptions of Edwardian life—a superb treat for those who love British novels.

Available for pre-order on:

bt_amazon_print_smallbt_amazon_kindle_smallbt_barnes_and_noble_print_smallbt_barnes_and_noble_nook_smallbt_booksamillion_smallbt_indiebound_smallkobo-icon

Recent News

Death of a Dishonorable Gentlemen will be released by Minotaur Books, St. Martin’s Press January 6, 2015.

Standby for a COVER REVEAL!

A Party for Winston. The second book in the series to be released in January 2016.

How Edwardian Are You?

Lord DalhousieTake the New Quiz

Ten questions to test your knowledge of the Edwardian era.

Blog Redoubtable Edwardians

Please visit my blog, Redoubtable Edwardians, which features articles about the colorful eccentrics who populated the era of my books. I hope you will find them as fascinating as I do!

 

death of a dishonora#B139E3 (3)

Iyntwood House and Centuries of Prudent Politics

To celebrate the cover reveal for DEATH OF A DISHONORABLE GENTLEMAN I thought it would be fun to concoct a history of the house featured in the novel.  Clearly from the cover Iyntwood House is a very grand building indeed; the sort of house that if it survived the deprivations of the last century would… Read the full article >>

More >

Cadbury's_Cocoa_advert_with_rower_1885

Iyntwood and the Chocolate Challenge

Thanks to author Martine Bailey for inviting me to take part in her Chocolate Challenge in which we choose three of our favorite books and liken each to dark, milk or white chocolate. Martine is author of: An Appetite for Violets, a suspenseful tale of obsession, betrayal and food to be released in January 13,… Read the full article >>

More >

Philip de Laszlo's portrait of Elinor

Elinor Glyn and the Tiger Skin

Elinor Glyn was a best-selling romantic novelist whose fame peaked in the early 1900s. She wrote what were criticized by some as novels of ‘questionable quality and taste’ at a time when Victoria’s rigid rules for fidelity (for the upper classes) had long been mislaid. Elinor’s risqué novel Three Weeks, published in 1907, described the… Read the full article >>

More >